Masterworks Series

Enduring Love Stories

February 9-11, 2024

Belding Theater at The Bushnell
Friday & Saturday at 8 PM
Sunday at 3 PM

Subscriptions and single tickets now available!


Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasy
Assad Anahata World Premiere
Wagner “Prelude & Liebestod” from Tristan und Isolde
Offenbach Orpheus in the Underworld Overture


Carolyn Kuan conductor
Boyd Meets Girl guitar & cello duo
Rupert Boyd, guitar
Laura Metcalf, cello


Romance is in the air with Enduring Love Stories. The HSO introduces you to star-crossed lovers throughout time and explores the struggles they endured. Through the music of Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet, Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde, and Offenbach’s Orpheus in the Underworld the HSO brings emotion and passion to the stage. Bringing dynamic duos into the present, the HSO has commissioned a double concerto by Grammy® Award nominated composer Clarice Assad for the husband-and-wife guitar and cello duo, Boyd Meets Girl, comprised of Rupert Boyd, guitar and West Hartford native, Laura Metcalf, cello.


Attend the FREE pre-concert talk with Maestro Kuan or special guest one hour before the concert!

Bring your smartphone to access our digital Playbill- don’t forget to silence it!

Grab a drink or bite from one of our convenient bar/café locations, and feel free to bring to your seat.

Applaud when you like what you hear – don’t worry about the “right” time!

Wear what you want – be comfortable.