The Hartford Symphony Orchestra presents Beethoven’s 5th on May 3-5

The Hartford Symphony Orchestra presents Beethoven’s 5th on May 3-5
Featuring groundbreaking trio Time for Three

The 75th anniversary celebration continues as the Hartford Symphony Orchestra presents Beethoven’s 5th starting on Friday, May 3 and running through Sunday, May 5, in the Belding Theater at The Bushnell in Hartford. These concerts will be led by HSO Music Director, Carolyn Kuan, and feature the genre-defying string trio, Time for Three. For tickets and information, visit hartfordsymphony.org.

This program will feature Britten’s “Four Sea Interludes” from Peter Grimes, Higdon’s Concerto 4-3, and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67. Join us for a pre-concert talk led by Carolyn Kuan one hour prior to curtain of each performance.

Beginning with those unforgettable four notes, Beethoven’s blazing Symphony No. 5 “emanates directly and solely from the genius of Beethoven,” said Hector Berlioz. The HSO will welcome Time for Three for Higdon’s Concerto 4-3, a work that blends bluegrass with traditional classical. And Britten’s haunting “Four Sea Interludes” from the opera Peter Grimes reflects the turmoil of both the opera’s characters and the sea off Britain’s Suffolk coast.

About Time for Three

Time for Three – violinist Nicolas (Nick) Kendall, violinist Charles Yang, and double-bassist Ranaan Meyer – is a group that defies any traditional genre classification, happily and infectiously. With an uncommon mix of virtuosity and showmanship, the American trio performs music from Bach to Brahms and beyond, giving world-premieres by Pulitzer Prize-winners William Bolcom and Jennifer Higdon as well as playing originals and their own arrangements of everything from bluegrass and folk tunes to ingenious mash-ups of hits by the Beatles, Kanye West, Katy Perry, Justin Timberlake and more.

Calendar Listing
Masterworks Series
Friday – Sunday, May 3-5, 2019
Belding Theater at The Bushnell
Friday & Saturday 8pm?Sunday 3pm
Tickets starting at $43.00; $10.00 for students with ID
860-987-5900 or www.hartfordsymphony.org

Britten “Four Sea Interludes” from Peter Grimes
Higdon Concerto 4-3
Beethoven Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67

Carolyn Kuan conductor
Time for Three string trio
Nicolas (Nick) Kendall, violin
Charles Yang, violin
Ranaan Meyer, double bass


Buy Tickets

Questions: Click Here
More Information: Click Here


Single & Flex Cards: 860.987.5900
Subscriptions: 860.244.2999

Box Office

The Bushnell
166 Capitol Ave
Hartford, CT 06106

©2018 Hartford Symphony Orchestra
The Bushnell: 166 Capitol Ave. Hartford, CT 06106