Masterwork Series

Tchaikovsky & Pride

June 9-11, 2023

Belding Theater at The Bushnell
Friday & Saturday at 8 PM
Sunday at 3 PM


Quinn Mason She Dreams of Flying
   22-23 Joyce C. Willis Artist in Residence
Bell Stonewall  ’69: a Symphonic Suite
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, TH 30 “Pathétique”


Carolyn Kuan conductor


We conclude our 2022-2023 season with a celebration of the classic and the contemporary- including two new works commissioned by the HSO.  Tchaikovsky’s final symphony, “Pathétique” continues to be one of his most debated works that takes you through an array of emotions and mystery.  Stonewall ’69: A Symphonic Suite is based on composer Iain Bell’s opera Stonewall that commemorates the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising in NYC that ignited a fight for equality among the LGBTQ+ community. HSO Music Director, Carolyn Kuan, conducted the premiere of the opera. The HSO welcomes back Quinn Mason back to Hartford as his final residency as the 2022-2023 Joyce C. Willis Artist in Residence. The HSO was one of three local arts organizations to receive a grant from the Edward C. and Ann T. Roberts Foundation to support a Black Artist in Residence for three years.

*Please note: face masks are required to enter the Belding Theater for our Sunday matinee Masterworks concerts*


Attend the FREE pre-concert talk with Maestro Kuan or special guest one hour before the concert!

Bring your smartphone to access our digital Playbill- don’t forget to silence it!

Grab a drink or bite from one of our convenient bar/café locations, and feel free to bring to your seat.

Applaud when you like what you hear – don’t worry about the “right” time!

Wear what you want – be comfortable.