Masterworks Series

Mozart & Prokofiev

May 10-12, 2024

Belding Theater at The Bushnell
Friday & Saturday at 8 PM
Sunday at 3 PM

Subscriptions and single tickets now available!


Prokofiev Classical Symphony, Op. 25 (Symphony No. 1)
Fuchs Piano Concerto, “Spiritualist”
Mozart Overture to The Marriage of Figaro
Mozart Symphony No. 38, “Prague”


Adam Kerry Boyles conductor
Angelina Gadeliya piano


Under the direction of HSO Assistant Conductor, Adam Kerry Boyles, we welcome pianist and UConn professor, Angelina Gadeliya, performing fellow UConn Professor and Grammy® Award winner, Kenneth Fuchs’s Piano Concerto, “Spiritualist”-a piece inspired by three paintings of Helen Frankenthaler. His first numbered symphony, Prokofiev chose to compose his Classical Symphony without the aid of the piano and each movement is brief and to the point in the true “Classical” style. Mozart’s Overture to The Marriage of Figaro includes some of the most famous and hummable tunes in classical music and created a revival in the city of Prague for the composer.  It was there, in Prague, that his dramatic Symphony No. 38 was premiered, and it was considered a gift to the city.

Know Before You Go

Attend the FREE pre-concert talk with Maestro Kuan or special guest one hour before our Masterworks concerts!

Bring your smartphone to access our digital Playbill- don’t forget to silence it!

Grab a drink or bite from one of our convenient bar/café locations, and feel free to bring to your seat.

Applaud when you like what you hear – don’t worry about the “right” time!

Wear what you want – be comfortable.