Hartford Symphony Orchestra’s 2018-2019 Masterworks series continues with Tchaikovsky’s Firsts from November 30-December 2

The Hartford Symphony Orchestra will honor the great Tchaikovsky at their upcoming Masterworks concert with two of his firsts! The celebratory 75th anniversary season continues with Tchaikovsky’s Firsts starting on Friday, November 30 and running through Sunday, December 2 in the Belding Theater at The Bushnell in Hartford. These concerts will be led by HSO Music Director Carolyn Kuan, and feature world- renowned pianist, Szymon Nehring.

This program features Tchaikovsky’s “Polonaise” from Eugene Onegin, TH 5, his Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23, TH 55, and his Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, TH 24, “Winter Dreams.”

Join us for a pre-concert talk led by HSO Music Director, Carolyn Kuan, one hour prior to curtain of each performance.  Visit hartfordsymphony.org for tickets and additional information.

Tchaikovsky’s triumphant Piano Concerto No. 1 was an immediate success upon its premiere in Boston in 1875 and was the first piece of classical music to sell a million records, with a performance by Van Cliburn in 1958. His melancholic and seductive Symphony No. 1, “Winter Dreams,” marked the first of its kind: the Russian symphony.

The 2018-2019 Masterworks Series is sponsored by The Edward C. and Ann T. Roberts Foundation. The 75th Anniversary Lead Sponsor is the Richard P. Garmany Fund at Hartford Foundation for Public Giving. The 75th Anniversary Season Supporting Sponsor is Cly-Del Manufacturing Co. 


About Szymon Nehring

Szymon Nehring is one of the most gifted and promising pianists of the younger generation in Poland. He is the only person native to Poland to win the First Prize at the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition in Tel Aviv, one of the most prestigious piano competitions in the world.

In 2014, Nehring won the First Prize at the Arthur Rubinstein in Memoriam International Competition in Bydgoszcz. He was also the 2015 recipient of the Krystian Zimerman scholarship and performed in the finals of the 17th Fryderyk Chopin International Piano Competition, winning an Honorable Mention, the Audience Prize and several other prizes.

Since 2017, Nehring has been studying with Professor Boris Berman at the Yale School of Music. He previously studied at the Academy of Music in Bydgoszcz in the class of Professor Stefan Wojtas, with whom he has worked since 2013. Before that, he studied piano in the class of Olga ?azarska at the Mieczys?aw Kar?owicz Primary Music School in Kraków and at the Fryderyk Chopin Secondary Music School in Kraków for 11 years.


Calendar Listing
Masterworks Series
Friday – Sunday, November 30- December 2, 2018
Belding Theater at The Bushnell
Friday & Saturday 8pm?Sunday 3pm
Tickets starting at $38.00; $10.00 for students with valid ID
860-987-5900 or www.hartfordsymphony.org

Tchaikovsky “Polonaise” from Eugene Onegin, TH 5
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23, TH 55
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, TH 24, “Winter Dreams”

Carolyn Kuan conductor
Szymon Nehring piano


HSO programs are funded part by the Greater Hartford Arts Council’s United Arts Campaign, the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving, and with support from the Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Office of the Arts, which also receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.

About the Hartford Symphony Orchestra
The mission of the Hartford Symphony Orchestra is to enrich lives and community through great music. Marking its 75th Anniversary Season in 2018-2019, the HSO is Connecticut’s premier musical organization, the second largest orchestra in New England, and widely recognized as one of America’s leading regional orchestras. The Hartford Symphony Orchestra named Carolyn Kuan as its tenth music director in January 2011; she is the first woman and youngest person to hold this title. The HSO captivates and inspires audiences of all ages by presenting more than 100 concerts annually, including the Masterworks Series, POPS! Series, Sunday Serenades, Discovery Concerts, Symphony in Schools, Musical Dialogues, the Talcott Mountain Music Festival, and more.  The HSO aims to deliver uniquely powerful and emotional experiences that lift and transform the spirit, and to give back and help create vibrant communities in the Greater Hartford area.


Buy Tickets

Questions: Click Here
More Information: Click Here


Single & Flex Cards: 860.987.5900
Subscriptions: 860.244.2999

Box Office

The Bushnell
166 Capitol Ave
Hartford, CT 06106

©2018 Hartford Symphony Orchestra
The Bushnell: 166 Capitol Ave. Hartford, CT 06106