Hartford Symphony Orchestra presents Merry Mozart December 9-11

The Hartford Symphony Orchestra ushers in the winter months with works by Mozart, Sarasate, Mackey and the return of guest violinist Sirena Huang as it presents Merry Mozart Friday, December 9 through Sunday, December 11 in the Belding Theater at The Bushnell in Hartford. Visit www.hartfordsymphony.org for information. The 2016-2017 Masterworks Series is sponsored by The Edward C. and Ann T. Roberts Foundation. These concerts will be conducted by HSO Music Director, Carolyn Kuan, and will feature additional guest artist and composer Steven Mackey on electric guitar.

A free pre-concert talk led by Carolyn Kuan will take place one hour prior to each performance.

Mozart’s Don Giovanni is recognized as one of the greatest operas of all time, and its overture, with comedic and melodramatic elements, was completed just hours before the opera’s premiere in October, 1787 – not atypical for that time period.  Back by popular demand, violinist Sirena Huang first graced the HSO stage as a young child. Her return with composer Steven Mackey on electric guitar for his Four Iconoclastic Episodes will be…electrifying! Sarasate’s Zigeunerweisen, Op.20 “Gypsy Airs” is one of the Spanish composer’s most popular compositions and a favorite among violin virtuosos. The program concludes with Mozart’s exhilarating and transcendent “Jupiter” symphony. Plus, don’t miss a holiday musical surprise!

About Sirena Huang

sirena huang

Twenty-two-year-old American violinist Sirena Huang began playing violin at age four, and made her orchestra solo debut with the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra at age nine. She was named the first artist-in-residence of the Hartford Symphony Orchestra from 2011-2014. She is rapidly building an international reputation as a young string virtuoso of outstanding potential – praised for her “impeccable technique, deeply expressive phrasing and poetic weight.”

A recent graduate of the Juilliard School, where she studied with Itzhak Perlman and Sylvia Rosenberg, Huang is a major prize winner at the Singapore and Shanghai Isaac Stern International Violin Competitions and the Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians. To date she has been featured as a soloist with over 40 orchestras – including the New York Philharmonic, Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Staatskapelle Weimar in Germany and Russian Symphony Orchestra.

About Steven Mackey

Steven Mackey

Steven Mackey was born in 1956, to American parents stationed in Frankfurt, Germany.  He is regarded as one of the leading composers of his generation and has composed for orchestra, chamber ensembles, dance and opera. His first musical passion was playing the electric guitar, in rock bands based in northern California.  He blazed a trail in the 1980’s and 90’s by including the electric guitar and vernacular music influence in his concert music. He regularly performs his own work, including two electric guitar concertos and numerous solo and chamber works. He is also active as an improvising musician and performs with his band Big Farm.

Mackey’s orchestral music has been performed by major orchestras around the world, from the Los Angeles Philharmonic, San Francisco and Chicago Symphonies, the BBC Philharmonic, Concertgebouw orchestra, and the Austrian Radio Symphony, to the Sydney Symphony and Tokyo Philharmonic.

Recent premiers include Mnemosyne’s Pool, a large multi-movement orchestral work co-commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Sydney Symphony, the National Symphony and the New World Symphony and Triceros, a trumpet concerto for virtuoso Hakan Hardenberger commissioned by the Swedish Chamber Orchestra.

Mackey has received numerous accolades including a Grammy, several awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a Guggenheim fellowship. He has been the composer-in-residence at major music festivals, including Tanglewood, Aspen and the Holland Festival.

Mackey is currently Professor of Music and chair of the Department of Music at Princeton University, where he has been a member of the faculty since 1985.  In 1991, he was the recipient of Princeton University’s first Distinguished Teaching Award.

Calendar Listing
Masterworks Series

Friday – Sunday, December 9-11
Belding Theater at The Bushnell
Friday & Saturday 8pm?Sunday 3pm
Tickets starting at $38.00; $10.00 for students with ID
860-987-5900 or www.hartfordsymphony.org

 Overture to Don Giovanni, K. 527
Pablo de Sarasate Zigeunerweisen, Op.20 “Gypsy Airs”
Mackey Four Iconoclastic Episodes
Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C Major, K. 551, “Jupiter”
And a holiday music surprise!

Carolyn Kuan conductor
Sirena Huang violin
Steven Mackey electric guitar
HSO programs are funded part by the Greater Hartford Arts Council’s United Arts Campaign, the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving, and with support from the Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Office of the Arts, which also receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.

Buy Tickets

Questions: Click Here
More Information: Click Here


Single & Flex Cards: 860.987.5900
Subscriptions: 860.244.2999

Box Office

The Bushnell
166 Capitol Ave
Hartford, CT 06106

©2018 Hartford Symphony Orchestra
The Bushnell: 166 Capitol Ave. Hartford, CT 06106