From the New World – Rescheduled

From the New World - Rescheduled

From the New World – Rescheduled

Thursday, May 26, 2022


Mortensen Hall at The Bushnell
Thursday, May 26 | 7:30 PM


Jeri Lynne Johnson conductor
Michelle Cann piano

Dvorák Slavonic Dances, Op. 46, No. 1 (C Major) & No. 8 (A-flat Major)
BurleighTraditional Spirituals
Price Concerto in One Movement for Piano
Dvorák Symphony No.9 in E minor, Op. 95, “From the New World”

Tickets: $35-$68

“We celebrate the new year with music and artists I have long admired and loved. Piano Concerto in One Movement is composed by Florence Price, who, in 1933, became the first Black woman to have her music performed by a major orchestra. Dvorák’s love of spirituals can be heard in his music, especially in the Largo movement of his Symphony No.9, which inspired ‘Goin’ Home.’” – Carolyn Kuan

Learn more about our guest artists here.

Click here for a printable PDF program.

Concert Sponsor: Saunders Fund for Innovative Programming

Subscriptions and single tickets are on sale now!

Health And Safety Protocols As of May 1, 2022

Buy Tickets

Questions: Click Here
More Information: Click Here


Single & Flex Cards: 860.987.5900
Subscriptions: 860.244.2999

Box Office

The Bushnell
166 Capitol Ave
Hartford, CT 06106

©2018 Hartford Symphony Orchestra
The Bushnell: 166 Capitol Ave. Hartford, CT 06106